Inspiration instead of Intimidation

We’ve received the official welcome letter which invited us to join a Facebook group for the fellows.

I started peeking at other profiles . . .

An impressive bunch. Some already traveling on other fellowships. Some “Teachers of the Year”. Some in photos speaking in massive auditoriums of people.

. . . and then the Impostor Syndrome hit.  Do I really belong in this group? – the little voice said.

Then, I remembered. This is professional development. I will be learning. I’m not expected to be perfect. I’m not expected to be teaching amazing global lessons yet. Instead of being intimidated, I need to focus on taking away inspiration.

Trying to apply How to Turn Anxiety Into Inspiration a  great video that shows a simple way to trick your brain by exploiting the fact that your body’s responses to excitement and anxiety are actually similar. And Amy Cuddy’s Your body language may shape who you are.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *