The beginning . . .

Back in January 2018, Facebook showed me an ad for the 2018-2019 NEA Foundation Global Learning Fellowship: a professional development opportunity for teachers to build skills in teaching global competencies. Teachers would participate in online webinars and course work, a two day workshop in Washington, DC, and a 9 day field study overseas (projected to be in South Africa).

I couldn’t pass it up. I began the application. I was immediately confronted with a question about any professional distinctions or recognitions. I had none that I could think of . . . but I Googled how many people had applied in the past – over 400- and how many had been selected – 48. Better than a 1 in 10 chance.

I decided to not let the question derail me. I figured the decision making committee would focus on evidence of return on investment. They would probably look for buy-in, potential impact on applicants’ communities and reach. I tried to provide as much concrete evidence as possible of my claims.

Buy-In

I’ve lived overseas twice. Formally studied three languages and taught myself small bits of two more. I’ve continued travel and even led a student trip overseas. Topics in my science classes such as Energy Resources and Climate Change involved issues at the global scale. Students who pursue research in science will likely collaborate with people around the world. And . . . I believe it’s important for all students to understand the interconnectedness of our world-how we impact other countries and they impact us. Even just applying to this fellowship has started me thinking about how to concretely integrate these ideas into my teaching.

Impact

While I live in my state’s capital, it is still a relatively rural community. We have a high population of students living in poverty.

Reach

I’ve shared lessons and ideas with other teachers in my department. I’ve led school-wide technology trainings. I exchange ideas with other teachers in professional developments across the state.

 

And . . . I GOT IT!!

Not only am I excited to go overseas, but I’m excited to be a part of what should be an amazingly transformational professional development experience. I wanted to start this blog, so I could reflect and more importantly remember the ideas and inspiration that emerge.

I teach an Earth Science class in which we discuss the expanding universe. I will be expanding my mind, expanding my teaching practice, and so I’ve decided to entitle this blog “Expanding Science“.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *