Finally! It’s Here!

I applied for the NEA Foundation Global Learning Fellowship in February of 2018. I finally got my flight itinerary last Friday. From Portland, ME to Washington D.C. to Accra, Ghana to Johannesburg and Cape Town, South Africa. I will have a half dozen fellow fellows joining me from DC on. It almost seemed like it wasn’t happening.

The fall gathering in DC was amazing, and having met my travel companions in advance, makes it all more exciting.

I asked my students for questions I could answer on my trip.

Here they are:

Does South Africa smell like banana?

Will it rain a lot?

What kind of food are you going to be eating?

Any science experiments?

Will you see a lion? And will you live?

What is regular life like there?

What are people on the streets like?

What are some common musical instruments?

How common is it to see stray animals?

What animals are over there? Wild and domestic

How much water based crime is happening?

What are schools like?

What’s the technology like?

What kind of trees do they have?

How are housing situations different?

What is police presence like? Do they wear uniforms?

What is the difference in prices of stuff?

What is my first reaction?

How many different birds are there? (Please take lots of bird photos)

What stands out as radically different?

How fluent are people’s English?

How safe is it?

People driving cars vs. Pedestrians?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *