The Big Goal- Building Connections and Taking Action

Last week, we discussed our goals for our evaluation system. We have to complete a “Student Growth Goal” and a “Professional Goals”

Ask me to write an essay, fill out an application, send a check, nearly anything I can accomplish independently, and I will get it done.

Call someone else, speak with someone important or with authority, ask someone to do something for me . . . less likely to happen. This is all out of my comfort zone. I think being a salesperson is very close to my vision of hell.

After receiving my acceptance e-mail from the NEA Foundation, I asked the Program Manager if she could give me any feedback on my application. Along with comments she forwarded me a link to The Globally Competent Learning Continuum. Judging myself, I show a lot of global competence in terms of awareness and skills, however, I am certainly lacking when it comes to taking concrete action.

Our school uses the outline laid out by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. In Proposition 5: Teachers are members of learning communities-“Teachers Work Collaboratively with the Community”: I haven’t involved community resources, particularly field experts, in my lessons.

I find I’m really good at keeping on track and completing structured work with deadlines, but it is very difficult for me to bring about larger projects of my own design. I think part of what I am lacking is accountability, so I am hoping that choosing this as my professional goal will be the kick in the pants I need to expand the experiences of my students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *